blackfoot_mapThe ancestral territory of the tribes that became known as the “Blackfoot Confederacy” include the area of the northern Great Plains between the Saskatchewan river and Yellowstone river. Historically, there were five tribes who were part of the “Blackfoot Confederacy.” Today, there are four tribes, that live in Alberta and Montana.

The name “Blackfeet” became the official legal name of the Amskapi Piikani in the United States in the early twentieth century.

Amskapi Piikani (U.S.), became known as the Blackfeet.

Aputsi Piikani (Canada)

Kainai (Canada)

Siksika (Canada)

Inaxix (U.S.), ceased to exist after 1846.

Saokio Heritage is a community-based organization that aims to educate and advocate for the revitalization of Blackfeet (Amskapi Piikani) traditional knowledge in a modern context.